Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
There are serious consequences for a DUI conviction. You have a limited time to request your DMV hearing so call immediately. Offenders in the state of Utah will face the following:
What are the penalties for a DUI in Utah?
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense|
|Jail||48 hours min.||240 hours min.||1,500 hours min.|
|Fines and Penalties||$700 min.||$800 min.||$1,500 min.|
|License Suspension||120 days||2 years||2 years|
|Ignition Interlock Device Required||No (but may receive it as a condition still)||Yes||Yes|
What if you refuse to take a chemical test in Utah?
Utah has an implied consent law. That means that if you refuse to submit to a chemical test you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension.
|1st Offense||2d Offense||3rd Offense|
|Refusal to take test||18 month license suspension||3 year license suspension||3 year license suspension|
Your first line of defense is to avoid drinking and driving. It’s worth noting that it is possible to be cited for DUI if your BAC is under 0.08%. If your judgment is demonstrably impaired, the exact number of drinks doesn’t matter. Remember, cab fare and overnight parking rates are pennies compared to the long-term costs of a conviction.
However, if you are cited for DUI, it’s in your best interest to contact an attorney. Even if your citation seems straightforward and conviction seems unavoidable, legal representation can help guarantee you get a fair and reasonable sentence. Our firm has considerable expertise regarding DUI cases, including eight years of experience in preparing for and trying DUI cases.
Contact us today.